Quack, Quack, Quack


You there!

Hop to.

In line.

There, that’s better.

Yup.

It’s official.

All my ducks are in a row.

I got everything done today that needed to be done so that I may leave San Francisco neat and tidy with all bags packed, or bins, as the case may be.

Now I just need to get through the week and not freak out that there’s really nothing left to do.  I mean, there’s a few things to do, but nothing further that could be accomplished today aside from giving myself a pat on the back and taking a walk down to the beach.

Said beach I did not walk down to and I am now feeling the affects of having just walked a dune.

Meaning.

My ankle is elevated and I have the proverbial sack of frozen peas resting against the left side.

Ugh.

Yesterday was my first day where I did not actually have to ice down my ankle at the end of the day when I was writing my blog.

Of course, I may well have been distracted by the oddball day it was what with getting my eyes dilated and how freaking uncomfortable that was.

But I did not have to ice it and I was quietly pleased that it seems to have taken another small, gentle step forward in healing.

I actually don’t think what I did, climbing one dune to look out over the Pacific, was that hard on it, but it was just enough destabilized movement that it swelled up.

It didn’t hurt when I was walking up the sand, but it was a challenge to remind myself to go slow and to ignore the gaggle of French teenagers changing in the dunes as the sun was starting to lower in the Western sky.

It was my first trip down to the beach since the accident and it was lovely to just breathe the air, it felt super charged and fresh and I felt rejuvenated for having made the small journey.

Most of my day was just that, small journeys.

From my studio to the garage.

Laundry, three loads.

All my stuff ready and washed and folded, put in plastic one gallon storage bags and sealed up, all my socks, my tank tops, my tights, leggings, and panties.

Everything that I am bringing except the few items of clothing that I will be wearing to get me through the week.

Ironically, the last few days before I head out to the playa are my least dressed up days.

All my hair ribbons and frippery.

Yes I said frippery.

Look it up.

All my hats and the goggles, my utility belt, my hair flowers and bows, all the sparkle and zazzle and stripes and polka dots, all the hearts and even my parasol, all set aside, ready to go, awaiting transportation to Cole Valley on Thursday after work.

I had a small epiphany and realized that I was trying to cram too much into the time between the end of my Thursday gig in the day and the beginning of my Thursday night with the Cole Valley family.

Instead of rushing over after I finish in NOPA, I am going to take it easy, relax, walk to the bank, deposit the last checks from the week, and eat a nice last meal somewhere in between NOPA and Cole Valley.

I will show up for the shift at 7 p.m. as the mom requested and do my thing.

Then, when she gets home from her outs and abouts, I will borrow the car to scoot out to my studio and gather up my things.

I will thereby avoid rush-hour traffic and I will just move it all in the  quiet of the evening.

It’s all packed with the exception of the few clothing items I am going to use over the week, my toiletries, and my electric tea kettle and coffee grinder.

All these things will be going with me, but I use them on a daily and nightly basis, so they stay out until the last-minute.

I have room set aside specifically for the last few things and then Thursday I can just pop the last couple of things in the bin and load my bins up into the car.

It won’t take long.

I have three medium-sized bins and one small bin.

I’ll also have my messenger bag with my laptop and travel toiletries and my makeup box.

That’s it.

I travel small.

In fact, I had a moment of panic when I placed all the bins in a tidy little stack in my closet, do I have enough?!

How is it possible that 19 days worth of clothes and supplies are in those three bins?

I don’t know, but I do know that’s exactly where they are, all 19 days worth of my needs.

Including two new books to read (I do have down time when my little guy is napping and I do writing and reading and all coloring in that time), my boots, and my headphones.

I still have to pack my music cube, but that goes last along with the teapot.

In between the packing I cleaned the house, took care of the compost, watered the plants and checked in with my housemate.

She’s going to water my houseplants for me.

I also let her know I would be dropping off the rent check for September Thursday evening before I left.

It will be the last thing to take care of–paid the phone bill, Healthy San Francisco, and my scooter payment already.

She assured me that she wouldn’t deposit the check until the first.

Not that it matters.

The funds will be there.

I don’t feel right about even tempting fate with that.  I just want it done and not have to think about anything financial while I am out there.

I even went to the grocery store and picked up a few supplies there to help with my food for the week.  I cooked up a pot of pinto beans with organic pan sauteed chicken breasts and onions and garlic, some fine chopped carrots and a little broccoli snuck in for “greenery.”

That and the ever faithful pot of brown rice.

I canned it and froze it and my food is all stacked up and ready to go for each shift of work that I have this week.

And

That is it.

I am in the homestretch.

T-minus five days.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

