Damn Fine Day


It was.

My tummy is still full from a damn fine dinner.

Liholiho Yaht Club.

Go now.

Despite having dietary restrictions I ate like a queen and enjoyed being out with my friend and reconnecting.

The food was divine, but the company did my heart immense good.

There are times when I think that I am lonely or that there are not enough people for me to connect with and then I get to sit and talk and connect and be around someone who gets me, and maybe, just a little I get him and it’s all good.

Especially since my first Match.com date was no great shakes.

I mean, it wasn’t bad, but no chemistry at all.

None.

Had me watching my watch, surreptitiously after a few minutes and I think we both knew it, we were friendly and chatted and the date lasted for exactly one hour and fifteen and it could have been done at fifteen.

Grateful I went and showed up for it and let myself be seen.

But sometimes to let myself be fully seen, its with a friend who has gotten to witness the good, the bad, the stupid, and vice versus.

Plus the food, like I indicated, was hella tight.

I had Hawaiian poke, beef tongue (best beef tongue I have ever had, though granted, I’ve only had it twice, this was superlative), two different kinds of salad–a beautiful beet salad and a gorgeous rendition of a caesar with Hass avocado, a lovely tuna belly, and the piece de resistance, a pork belly with pineapple and shaved fennel perfuming the dish–we ate family style, I did not eat all this on my own.

I enjoyed some jasmine green tea with the dinner and for dessert a Blue Bottle latte while my friend devoured the baked Hawaii–pineapple ice cream and caramelized chiffon.

Watching his face crumple with joy as he took the first bite of the dessert was one of the highlights of my day.

So often I see people buried in the screens of their phones to actually bear witness to such simple and pure joy right in front of me was a gift.

But I will say, I did enjoy some screen time today too.

In fact, I started my day with some screen time, and I learned how to use FaceTime on my Macbook.

I got to do a check in with my OG Burning Man family and the Junebug, who has been a serious hair farmer unbeknownst to me, I can’t wait to braid it up, and stick flowers in it and do matching outfits and uh.

Yes.

I miss nannying a little girl.

And Junior was my first real little girl, therefor, always, forever, no matter what, no matter who, will be number one in my heart.

To see those big eyes and that face and all that hair, I feel so lucky to have family, friends, Burning Man, San Francisco, love, all of the good gooey smooshy smash my heart stuff, it just overwhelms me.

Then I think, it’s just the divine pork belly I ate today.

But.

No.

There is more, the happiness of community and fellowship and all the richness and variety of my life.

Ah.

So good.

And the details for Burning Man are all coming together.

I am going, I have requested the time off from work, I get to go without it conflicting with school, I get to go.

We hashed out the details over FaceTime and I will work four shifts in return for transport there and back, a ticket and a place to camp.

Four shifts.

That’s it folks.

I mean, I know myself and I will probably help out more and I am thrilled beyond words at the idea of having playa adventures with my girl, so I can see spending more than a little more time with her than that, but I will also get to go and have some Burning Man time for me too.

I won’t be camped where I thought I was going to be, but when I realized that being further out and closer to the mountains and perhaps a bit outside of the hustle and bustle would do me good, I got into the idea and really, with my bike, it doesn’t matter.

And since I won’t need to be riding my bicycle to the Commissary every day, three times a day, I don’t have to even hit that part of town unless I have friends I want to see and hang out with.

Plus.

When I got the run down on all the lovely people who will be camping with my family, well, suffice to say, I was really excited and happy to hear it.

I get to camp with my favorite Burning Man people, I get to hang out with my favorite little girl in the whole world and I get to actually experience Burning Man.

Even if I were to work a little more, I would still be working half of what I worked the last two years.

Probably less.

And we talked about how I am not responsible for anyone else’s children–there will be other families there–I’m just responsible for my little lady.

I’m sure I’ll interact with and probably offer the families some sort of mama and papa night out on the playa, but I’m not going to worry about watching other kids.

I’m not going to worry about anything.

I’m going to go and I am going to have the time of my life.

I know it.

I’m going to have the summer of my life, in San Francisco.

When I think of the opening salvo to my summer, going to Chula Vista and seeing my grandmother, getting connected and reconnected to family, the love that I have discovered there, well, it’s only going to get bigger and better.

There will be more hanging with friends.

There will be more traveling.

There will be dating and fun and coffee and walks on the beach and love, love of my home, of myself, of my experiences, of San Francisco, Burning Man, art, music.

It’s all happening.

One day at a time.

One damn fine day at a time.

Everything.

And.

All the things.

Falling just so.

Like his face.

Rapt with happiness.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

