A Reprieve


Not a big one.

But enough of one that my entire body just felt so relaxed I could have melted into a puddle on the floor after I received the message.

Which had just come after I had done a yoga class.

So.

Melting on the floor might have been an entirely appropriate response.

Side bar.

Creeper yoga body aches.

Holy shit.

I left yoga thinking, that was hard, but not bad, and I feel great and maybe an hour or so later I started to get sore and I was like, oh hello, muscles that have never been used before, and an hour after that, holy shit.

I am sore.

Sore.

Sore.

But in a good way.

In that way that means I worked out, even if it didn’t feel like it, even when I fell out of the poses, even when I laughed or just couldn’t get it.

And when I did get it.

That was nice too.

But yeah, so sore that I completely re-thought going to class tomorrow morning.

Instead.

Oh.

End side bar.

Instead I am getting up early to write my second paper.

Yup.

Like that.

And the reprieve?

I found out today that the third paper I need to have written for this upcoming weekend of classes is not actually due until the 12th, two days after the weekend ends.

Granted.

I would much rather have it done before I go to class on Friday, but the odds are not great that I will and also be able to go to work and do the deal and maybe sneak in one more yoga class before the tsunami of graduate school swoops in and scoops me up and what the hell happened to the rest of the world and how is it Monday and I’m back at work?

I have to get my second paper written, no matter what, and yes, I know, I could be writing it right now, but frankly I would rather masturbate.

“You don’t know who could be reading your blogs!” My friend said to me.

Sometimes I forget that.

He’s right.

I don’t.

But I also could really stand to get laid.

Seriously.

And since my schedule is on the tight side, I can do a little self-care.

Wink, wink.

Nudge, nudge.

Besides.

I am not in the school paper writing mode.

I am just not.

I did do school work today, before and after yoga, and I got things organized and looked through notes.

So.

Tomorrow up early and writing and getting the ideas on paper that I need to cover.

I can finish it tomorrow night.

Unless I’m making out with someone.

You never know.

I have faith.

Heh.

And I have a little more time.

For which I am grateful, to write that third paper, and frankly, I am glad for it, I really feel like I need to hear the professor lecture on the topic one more time to solidify what I want to write about.

And the nice thing about work on Monday?

It’s not really work.

My family will be on Spring Break visiting relatives out of state.

I will be going to the house to open it up for the housekeeper and while she’s cleaning, I will sit at the kitchen table and write my Psychodynamics paper.

I have to be at the house from 9a.m.-2p.m.

I did leave the last time they asked me to do this when they were out on vacation, I went to Ritual, I got coffee, I ate lunch out, I ran some errands, and I popped in and out of the house until the housekeeper had finished.

Then by 2p.m. I’ll be free.

I will have the paper finished and I will have the rest of the day off.

I may be doing a meet and greet with the family that I am working for at Burning Man.

They will be visiting the bay area and want to re-establish our connection.

I met them originally at Lightening in a Bottle a few years ago, but until the outreach via a common friend, I haven’t seen them since and they have a new baby in the mix.

Delicious, I love me a new baby.

And a three and a half year old little girl.

I figure that will be about an hour or two and then I’ll be free.

Free from school work, at least for a few days, I will still have one more weekend of classes to go before the end of the semester, and from work until Wednesday.

I’ll have the 1/2 day Monday, then all Tuesday off.

I have been asked to a speaking engagement Tuesday eve, so that’s on the plate, but nothing else.

I could go on a date.

I could get laid.

Dude.

My friend laughed at me Sunday when he popped in for an hour to hang out.

“You can totally come over, but I have school work, so you can keep me company while i cook.”

I actually made him go grocery shopping with me too, it was fun.

We caught up.

His relationship.

My lack of relationship and no problem with it, I am not a maniac, or that demanding and selfish that I think someone is going to swoop in and want to play fiddle to my crazy schedule.

That being said, sex should and can get squeezed in there.

I believe that anyway.

And if not that.

Well.

Ha.

There’s always yoga.

And maybe a day at Kabuki?

Some spa action, some hot tub, some steaming in the sauna.

I still have a lot of work a head of me and that’s fine, but I can feel that it will all get done and I can see the work and really.

REALLY.

I have written 15 page papers the night before they are due.

I do not recommend it.

But I can do it.

No.

I would prefer to get my sleep, get some sex, have a nice breakfast in the morning, write my morning pages, pray, do my job well, and then deal with school.

I am super grateful that I am in graduate school, but I don’t want it to be the only thing happening in my life.

That being said.

I got to get.

I want to go to bed early so I can get this next paper in the can.

And I want to um.

Heh.

Relax a little before I go to bed.

Night.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

