Is It Bed Time Yet?


Good grief.

I am tuckered out.

But in a really good way.

I have officially finished all the reading I have to do for my second semester, first year, of graduate school.

Whoopee!

Now.

Can I please take a nap?

Oh my God.

My brain feels like it might be leaking out of my ears.

I was also going to write my paper for my Multi-Cultural Counseling and the Family, but nope, I ain’t got it in me.

In fact.

I knew I did not have it in me to do anything but read today.

I was um.

Up late.

Heh.

Yeah, the date, well it went smashingly.

I really don’t want to dish here, this is not the place for it, you a girlfriend, you got my digits?

Girl.

I will give you the details.

In not too delicate a manner.

Delicious.

It was a pretty fucking awesome date and I’ll just leave it at that.

And.

Yeah.

I am tired, I didn’t get much sleep, but that silly grin I have had on my face periodically throughout the day has been quite the help.

The sunshine didn’t hurt either.

I got a lot of other things done too.

Since next weekend is my last weekend of classes–it does not mean school’s out for summer, I will still have a couple of papers to write–I wanted to make sure that my ducks were in a row and my space clean and tidy.

I did lots of laundry, went grocery shopping, made food for the week and for the weekend of classes, put fresh sheets on the bed, ahem, and as I said, the aforementioned hours and hours of reading.

I thought briefly about going to yoga, but honestly, I was too beat and I had a plenty of physical exertion yesterday anyway.

Ahem.

I did yoga, people, hello.

And other things.

Giggle.

So instead of getting up to go to yoga I got up and did the deal and met with a ladybug and then all the other things that I needed to do so that I will be able to smoothly transition through the week of work into the weekend of school work.

I also did my background check for school, made a doctors appointment for the week after classes lets out, and called my mom.

Hey.

I try.

I may be tired.

I may not have written the paper I had planned on writing today, but at least I wrote my morning pages.

Wouldn’t you just like to read that?

That’s where all the juicy stuff is.

Heh.

I am so tempted to write about it, but despite my nudge, nudge, wink, wink, intimations of events, I sort of want to keep this one private, to myself, enjoy it all for me.

That thought, that one thought that pops up and traipses through while I am working on something or doing a chore or I don’t know, brushing my teeth and I get a little giggly and silly, that, that’s all mine.

I am only sharing that with a select few.

Suffice to say.

I am a wee bit smitten.

Tinder.

Who the fuck knew?

Anywho.

Yeah.

Tired.

A little discombobulated with the day, the sunshine, the left over effects of the date, the amount of reading I did for school, and the thoughts for the paper I have to write and present for class this upcoming weekend.

I’m pretty ok with the presentation part.

I’m good at public speaking.

I certainly have done it enough.

Although I do find school speaking a touch different than my experiences with speaking in front of other groups over the last eleven years, and let me also not forget or downplay all the debate, forensics, and academic work I did in middle school, high school, and undergrad.

I could get up in front of my class right now and present my paper.

Even though I haven’t written it.

I do have all the readings and relevant research done.

I know what I am going to write on.

I just don’t have enough cohesion in my brain pan to give it the proper due it’s, well, due.

I did contemplate writing it when I finished with the reading and had a bite of dinner.

I could get it done, still write my blog, and…

Really?

Why?

Why push myself that hard?

If my date yesterday showed me anything, it was how important it was to stay in the moment, to be present, it was one of those days that went by with such ease and effortlessness, it felt like it was sort of in a time space continuum, the time got melty and malleable and so much happened it seemed to encompass more time than it actually did.

Though.

Let me be honest.

It was a long date.

One that I gave myself complete and total permission to enjoy.

It was enjoyed.

Let me assure you.

And when I did have thoughts try to sneak in, “hey, remember, you have that paper to write and all that reading to do?”

I turned down the volume and brought my attention to what was right in front of me.

Being in the present is such a gift.

Duh.

That’s why it’s called the “present.”

Heh.

Seriously though.

I feel like I have accorded myself with much aplomb and though I did not get to all the work, I got to so much of it that I feel completely fine saying I can take off the rest of the night.

Drink some tea.

Get my Game of Thrones on.

Sleep.

I’ll be yoga’ing it up in the morning, already signed up for the 10 a.m. class and working at 1p.m. to 8p.m. then covering a commitment at 8:30 p.m.

I’ll write the paper Tuesday before work.

Get up early, rehash the readings I did, and write it out.

I’m quick with the keyboard and I know what I have to say about the topic, it’s just a matter of letting it out of my head.

As for now.

The gift is being present to go to bed early tonight.

I have some beauty rest to catch up on.

Wink.

Luckiest girl in the world.

Just saying.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

