Transitions


And I don’t mean the sunglasses.

Thank you very much.

My current family has confirmed that next semester, starting in January, they will only need coverage two days a week.

They would love to keep me.

But.

Understand that I may want to be full-time with another family.

Uh.

Yeah.

I don’t want a bunch of part-time hours here and there, I like routine, regularity, and benefits.

I live in San Francisco.

The most expensive city in America.

Rent is not cheap.

“You pay what for rent?” My uncle asked in aghast as he strolled through my tiny studio in Nob Hill eight years ago.  “That’s more than the mortgage on our house.”

Yeah.

Rents haven’t really gone down since that time either.

Then again, I don’t live in Wisconsin, so what I pay in rent would not be indicative of a house mortgage here.

Anyway.

I digress.

I had an interesting, albeit slightly uncomfortable conversation which started out with the mom telling me that she’d received a really amazing compliment regarding my nanny skills.

Ok.

I could feel myself go on alert, but I just listened.

Turns out a family that goes to the same school as my current family, needs some help on Mondays for the next few months.

And.

My current family does not need me as many hours as they have been giving me and would I be interested in talking to the other family and seeing if I could help.

I was a bit flummoxed.

Frankly I felt fobbed off and passed around and a little I don’t know, farmed out?

But once I got over that, I realized it was a huge compliment, the parents that asked have seen me a few times at play dates and I liked them and I adored their kids and they are sweet people.

And.

Get this.

Child psychologists.

Which I did not know when I first met them.

So, yeah, that is a compliment.

I discussed a bit more with my current employer and then we went over the plan for the day and I headed up to do the laundry and cooking and all the other sorts and bits and stuff.

I felt a bit overwhelmed and not sure what to do.

And.

Then.

I flipped it.

First, maybe a change of scenery might be helpful.

Second.

I do really like their kids and it’s been a minute since I worked with a baby, they have a 20 month old, a 4-year-old and a six-year-old.

Plus, if they were able to pay my current wage it could actually work out in my favor, that being I would probably get paid cash and a little more than I am making now since they want me for a few extra hours than what I currently work on Mondays.

Next.

I realized that the family had given me a golden opportunity.

Really.

That of the luxury of looking for work while I am currently employed.

I have 90 days, give or take to find a new situation that will work for me.

Fast forward a little to right about now.

I have a new job starting Monday.

I talked with one of the parents about a half hour ago, she explained the situation, told me what their needs were and I told her what my needs were and we agreed we could probably work this out.

She then checked in with her partner to confirm that they could pay me what I am making now and if the situation works for all involved.

And.

I got the confirmation e-mail about three minutes ago.

It’s on.

I’ll be starting on Monday, this coming Monday.

They have agreed to my terms and I to theirs.

Now that I feel a little more settled with what is happening I can see that this may transition perfectly for me.

The new family wants me Mondays until December 12th.

Perfect.

Then I will give the current family my notice, I’ll probably be talking to them further, but I know the mom realizes that I will need full-time work or close to it and that I prefer one situation to multiplies.

So.

Hey parents!

If you are looking for a nanny come January let me know.

I prefer to go back to working with the babies.

I miss the babies.

I will get to work with a 20 month old for a few weeks and that feels special and I already bonded with her last year when she was about a year old and I gave the parents a break to go for a swim in the pool.

I wore her in a little snuggly and she napped against my chest.

I do miss the weight of a child on my shoulder.

The sweet warm smell of surrender to sleep.

Naps.

Oh.

I shall love to have a day with a baby nap in it again.

I am in transition.

I am in the dark hallway.

But.

I have been here before and I know that I will be taken care of.

I always am.

New horizons.

New adventures.

New experiences.

Change.

Although I don’t always like it.

Never like it.

Even when it’s good.

I don’t like it.

But.

I know that this is ultimately a good change for me.

I embrace it.

I say.

Ok!

Let’s try this.

Let’s, I don’t know, give it the old college try.

I can be of service, I can be of assistance, I can nanny a little girl for a little while.

And her cute older brother, they really are adorable kids.

And I’ll get to have baby naps again in my life.

Life is good.

When I can shift my perspective and not be in fear.

Realizing that every step of the way I am taken care of.

Whether or not I am in fear.

Always.

There is the love.

Love.

And more love.

Thank God for perspective.

Faith.

Hope.

Joy.

All the things.

And new opportunities to learn and grow.

All of that too.

New job starts Monday.

Bang!

Here we go.

Here we go again.

Just when you think (think) you’re in control
Just when you think (think) you’ve got a hold
Just when you get on a roll
Here it goes, here it goes, here it goes again
Oh, here it goes again
I should have known, should have known, should have known again
But here it goes again
Oh, here it goes again

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

