Wasn’t I Just Here?


Doing just this?

I mean.

Man.

The day went by so fast.

It’s 10 p.m. and I’m just getting settled in for the night.

I did not do any school work today.

As predicted I had a lot of other things to attend to.

And attend to them I did.

Yoga.

Which kicked my ass.

I have a sore shoulder that I think may actually be a repetitive stress injury from.

Wait for it.

Blogging.

I know.

Right?

I suspected one day when I realized that it was just my left shoulder and that it was a certain spot and oh shit, I am not sitting at my kitchen table straight on, always at a bit of an angle and I bet that is what it is.

I mean.

It is the only explanation.

So.

Over the last few weeks I have tried writing my blog in a different position and now my right shoulder hurts.

Ugh.

But it’s not the same kind of strain and I remember when I strained my right shoulder how long it took to heal, like forever, and I suppose I’m just going to have to deal with a sore shoulder.

The yoga is hard, but I’m not stressing it, I feel like I’m keeping it flexible and when it’s too hard I relax the pose.

I’m not able to do the depth of poses on my left side that I can do on my right, which bums me out a little, but hey, as my teacher said today, “be happy you got here, getting out of bed and to the class is the hardest thing you’re going to do today.”

I reminded myself of that.

“That was the hardest thing you’re going to do all day,” I told myself with a laugh and hopped into the shower.

I had a lovely breakfast and I have to say, a lovely hair day.

It’s so nice to not have lice.

So, so, so nice.

I had big, huge, full, wild, curly hair today.

It was awesome.

I laughed at myself a little too, really, you were going to cut this all off?

No.

I like it too much.

It stays.

After breakfast I zoomed up to the Inner Sunset and joined the birthday cake party at Tart to Tart.

It was just the most lovely time.

I am so grateful to be a part of this community, and the small little slice that I had today was just the best, to sit with women, wise women, experienced in love and laughter and joy and sorrow, survivors every one of them, and be counted and seen and appreciated.

Such a pleasure.

Such a gift.

I ended up staying for an hour longer than I was going to and it was the best.

No regrets at all.

After that.

Manicure.

Pedicure.

Eyebrow waxing.

Because there ain’t going to be no other time to do it in the near future.

Although I fucked up my manicure and will need to get it re-done.

I was aiming for a color that would go well with my dress for the wedding I’m going to next Saturday, but it’s a flat color and needs to be spot on to look tight and it got mucky and now looks like trash.

Must to re-do.

When?

Fuck if I know, I might just remove the polish myself and go with a clear coat that I can do without too much hassle.

Anyway.

I digress.

After that a very late lunch at La Fonda Mexican and then the decision.

Go into the throngs here, or go into the throngs there?

Shopping that is.

I needed to get a pair of shoes for the wedding to go with the dress I’m wearing, and I did find a pair and I’m very happy with them.

And.

I got all the other things I needed to get, plus a coat!

That was a happy surprise.

So.

The right decision to take the left turn was warranted.

I was debating going to the Nordstrom Rack over by 10th and Bryant or going downtown.

10th and Bryant has its upside, closed in parking, I know the store, I’d feel pretty comfortable, but it’s  Nordstrom Rack, not the real deal, and it’s always a crap shoot if I can find what I want, sometimes I do score and I’m happy but when I for sure need to make sure I get the right thing for my wardrobe I head downtown.

I was nervous about the crowds, but actually dealt with it really well and I got caught up in the energy of it.

Plus.

I was shopping at the end of the day around dinner time, since I had a late lunch I didn’t get down town until nearly 4:30 p.m.

I went to the Nordstrom Rack down town too, I mean, I sort of had to, it is the best place for me to buy jeans and I needed a new pair.

Plus, on the off-chance that I could find a pair of shoes I wanted to start where they would be the cheapest.

No go on the shoes.

But.

Yes.

One new black bra.

One new pair of jeans.

And one lightweight sweater I can wear in San Francisco and will layer up nicely in Wisconsin.

And!

One new coat.

A leather and wool motorcycle jacket that was extraordinarily marked down, like I got it for $74 and it was originally over $300, and though not quite heavy enough for Wisconsin winter, was roomy enough to let me layer a sweatshirt underneath and its fabulous and, well, um, heh, very cool.

I felt super sexy in it and sort of loved that I found it.

Totally surprised and quite pleased.

Then off to the real Nordstrom’s, which I don’t like shopping in since it’s so freaking huge and in the mall and the mall is huge and overwhelming and too many people, but I dashed in, looked around and found.

Nada.

So.

I knew I had to go to Macy’s.

And.

Yes.

I found my shoes there!

I have been looking at shoes on-line and had a good idea that I would find what I wanted through Nine West, but I wanted to be able to try them on and Macy’s sells Nine West and Nine West runs to a 12.

I wear an 11.5.

Sigh.

You know what they say.

Big feet.

Big shoes.

Depending on the brand I either go up or I if I  need to, I go down.

The twelves I tried on were too big and the elevens were perfect.

I got the sweetest pair of dark royal blue kitten heels.

They are going to go so freaking well with my dress.

I cannot wait.

Plus, they are super cute kitten heels and I can see wearing them with a lot of things.

Not that I’d be nannying in them.

But you know.

A date.

Or going out with girlfriends.

Then out of Macy’s.

I got in and out in less than twenty minutes.

Freaking miracle.

And I actually had enough time to pop into Gap which was eerily quiet and rummage alone through the sales racks.

Scored another sweater, a slip dress and a, ha, pink flannel shirt.

Because.

Wisconsin in winter screams for flannel.

Just saying.

Happy I found what I wanted and also that I was able to get in and out without too much hassle.

I love having a scooter.

Especially for finding parking.

And for zipping over the hills and zooming through the traffic.

I made my 7 p.m. commitment without a minute to spare.

A great share.

Great shares from the floor.

Hugs and check ins and then back here to home sweet home.

A late dinner.

Unpacking my goodies.

Chatting with my best friend in Wisconsin about my upcoming trip and some hot tea.

A good day.

And tomorrow.

Well.

It’s not here yet.

But yes.

There will be homework.

I had my reprieve.

It’s time to hit the books.

Or the laptop as the case may be.

I have papers to write.

I do.

I do.

Good night my friends.

It was a good day.

And I am so very aware of what a lucky girl I am.

Seriously.

Luckiest girl in the world.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

