Force Quit


I can only deal with the spinning ball of doom for so long.

I forced a quit on my Word document.

No biggie.

Just the resume I had spent the last two hours working on.

Ugh.

So not cool.

So not happy about that.

And.

So not prepared to go back and re-do the resume.

Not right now.

It’s too late.

I did, however, get the cover letter done and saved and I have now written out a full resume in detail.

I know what I need to say.

I know how to format it.

I was literally about to click on the spell check and the little death ball started to go.

I am not pleased by this turn of events, but there’s not a whole lot to do right now.

It’s not an emergency.

Yes.

I really had hoped that before I was sitting down to write this blog I would be able to report a successful launching off into the ether my resume and cover letter for the practicum site that contacted me on Friday.

But.

Twas not to be so.

And I was going to start crying.

That’s a default go to when I’m mad sometimes too.

But instead.

I washed the dinner dishes.

I started some water for a cup of tea.

And I took a deep breath.

Crinkle, crinkle, crinkle.

What the hell is that?

Then I realized.

Ha.

I hadn’t taken off the bandage from my tattoo earlier today.

Yup.

I got my twelfth star upon my neck.

Well, technically it’s not on my neck.

It’s on my clavicle.

And yes.

Yes.

That did hurt.

Yes it did.

I always find that amusing, when folks ask, “ooh, did that hurt?”

Sometimes they do, sometimes they don’t, depending on where the tattoo is and at what phase in the tattooing one is at.

The body kicks out some adrenalin and the pain gets annihilated pretty quick and then the meditation begins.

I say the Serenity Prayer on a loop in my head when I’m getting a tattoo.

I know.

That’s crazy town.

Who the fuck says prayers while getting tattooed?

I do.

It works.

I sort of go into a slight meditative trance and I zonk out a little.

I don’t feel the pain.

It’s pretty fucking cool.

I felt this one though and was happy it was a smaller star and that the work wasn’t too long.

I was under the gun for less than a half hour.

Although it felt longer.

Time gets a wee bit plastic when I’m getting tattooed.

It looks great.

I’m super happy with it.

And I had a little time after I got done to head to Maxfield’s House of Caffeine and crank out a little homework reading before meeting a friend for tea and then heading over to do the deal at Dolores and Dorland.

It was great to catch up and I am grateful we made the time in both our busy schedules.

I heard just what I needed to hear and then hopped in a car back here, heated up some dinner and started working on my cover letter and resume.

I am bummed that the little death ball started rolling.

Super bummed.

I feel like there is probably a solution to fixing the Word document.

I think it needs to be updated to my MacBook Air, which might be the problem.

When I first opened it I got a little notice, but I wasn’t paying it any attention and just zoomed ahead.

I rather wish, now, that I had paid some attention.

Eep.

OH!

Oh yes!

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes!

Ha.

I decided I would try to re-open the Word document, just to see if maybe I might find it somewhere and voila!

The application retrieved my previous work.

Yes!

I just managed to spell check it, edit it.

And.

YES!

I sent it off.

Done.

It’s done.

I don’t know if it’s done fantastically.

I’m sure there could be improvements.

But.

I really feel good about what I wrote and how I put together my resume.

On one hand I have no relevant experience, I’m in graduate school, this is my first stab at applying to intern and I don’t have any clinical experience.

Except.

Holy moly.

You remember that little reference to twelve stars and doing the deal and all that.

Yeah.

Like that.

I have over a decade of experience being of service in the community, I have volunteered my time, happily I might add, for many a service position and I have worked one on one, week after week, month after month, years after years, with many women.

I have been super fortunate to be so situated that I have gotten to be a part of a big, beautiful, vibrant, amazing community.

You bet your ass that’s relevant experience in the field.

And.

Um, yeah.

Nanny for ten years and maybe I could say that I have some experience seeing how the dynamics of family systems work.

Just maybe a little insight there.

I was pretty forthcoming and it felt right.

And it’s done.

I have officially sent out my first resume and cover letter towards internship.

Feels pretty fucking good.

I’m happy I got the work done and I’m really happy I was able to retrieve it.

And yes.

It’s been properly saved.

I suspect I have to do some sort of update for the Word application to work well, it’s from 2011 so yeah, that’s probably what’s happening.

I shall figure it out.

I need to for sure, I will be writing more papers and this won’t be the first resume I send out.

Not by a long shot.

And each cover letter will be different, depending on what site I apply to.

So, definitely a need to rectify that.

But not a need to do it tonight.

Nope.

My weekend is done.

And now it’s time to have one last cup of tea and an apple and maybe catch a few minutes of a show before calling it a night.

What a nice way to end my day.

Seriously.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

