Fever State


I was sick last night.

I am still not quite myself.

Broken.

Softened.

Slowed down.

Slightly maudlin.

How I can get when I am sick and what I use as a cue to my brain that my body is actually quite sick is how easily sad I can become when ill.

I had to surrender to it though.

There was no going to yoga today.

There was no reading with a lady today at my tiny kitchen table.

There were no walks on the beach.

There was some sitting in the sunshine, for which I am grateful for, although it took a while for me to even get to the back porch outside my little studio door.

I wasn’t even sure I was going to write this blog, but I wanted to infuse a little touch of normalcy into my day.

I haven’t had the same high fever I had last night, but I have had passing flushes of it and small chills, then it would pass, sitting in the sunlight was good for keeping warm and also for getting me into the fresh air.

I did not leave the house today.

I am not often sick and I am infrequently, and I do mean infrequently, tummy sick.

I don’t know if it was food poisoning.

Or stomach flu.

I can say I ate oysters on Friday and I had sushi yesterday, so there’s that possibility.

I can also say I may have been exposed to a flu bug at work but that was weeks ago and I don’t know that it was flu.

I do know I went to bed at my normal time and that I had signed up to take yoga this morning.

And I had a hard time falling asleep.

I couldn’t get comfortable, my thoughts were racing and I was cold.

That should have clued me in, but I just thought well, San Francisco summer time, it must be chillier outside than I recalled when going to bed.

But as I tossed and turned something changed.

I got really cold.

Uncontrollably cold.

I started to shiver.

I was on the cusp of sleep and didn’t recognize at first what was happening.

I tried to turn over and stretch and my body cramped up.

I couldn’t stretch out, I was too cold, it was furious this coldness, my skin, my muscles, everything horrid and tight and sore and achy and then hot, so hot, but not hot enough, I was so awful cold.

My stomach got crampy.

Shit.

I am going to throw up.

I realized that I haven’t thrown up in a while.

Like nine years?

Eight.

Last time I threw up I was living on Capp and 23rd and nanny for a couple of my sweet bunnies up in Potrero Hill, it was just after New Years and the parents had loads of leftover food from the party and the mom said have at it.

I ate some meatballs.

They were good and I didn’t think much of it, until a little later when I was vomiting so hard I was crying to die or for my mother to rescue me.

That’s always a very good indication that I am ill, I want my mom.

But I could recognize that feeling.

Then.

OH.

Oh no.

It’s not just wanting to throw up.

I could feel my tummy rebelling at everything.

But I was so fucking cold I couldn’t get out of bed to use the bathroom.

I mean.

I did or I would have had a horrendous mess to clean up.

But it was awful.

Naked.

Shivering.

Crying.

I ran back and forth from bed to bathroom five times.

At one point I had made it to the kitchen to get a bowl to put my bed in case I were to throw up as well, I mean, might as well make it a party.

Or the thoughts careening through my head that I should have grabbed the wastebasket too and put it by the toilet, but if all else failed I could grab towel from the rack and vomit on that and throw it away.

Fun times.

The fever was high and I thought for a moment I might need to call for a car and go to urgent care, but the thought of going out in the cold was too much and I just crawled back into bed and toughed it out.

My fever broke this morning around 4 a.m.

I felt pretty delirious the whole time and so sore from my body cramping and the shaking trying to get warm.  I don’t remember much just that I suddenly didn’t feel like vomiting any more and that maybe I could fall asleep.

I remember looking at my phone to see what time it was.

4:04 a.m.

Then falling asleep.

Waking up around 7 a.m. and messaging the woman I was supposed to meet with and saying I had to cancel.

Falling in and out of sleep.

Talking with a dear friend for part of it and silent tears leaking down my face, so not good at being sick.

Then slipping back into sleep and yes.

Sleeping until 2p.m.

I might have awoken sooner, but something is off with my phone, sometimes it rings and sometimes it doesn’t and my text tones aren’t chiming when I get a text.

I had my phone on and I had received texts, but my phone wasn’t alerting me even though I had the volume on.

So.

I slept.

And it was good.

I mean.

I still spent most of the day soft and woozy and quiet.

I managed oatmeal and I had some coffee, I know it’s not great for my tummy, but the caffeine head ache wasn’t helping either.

There I was at 3:30p.m. having “breakfast.”

I did manage a hot shower and hair wash, and that was one of the times I had a bit of a fever again, but no more tummy issues, I have curly hair again, by the way, the blow out is gone, but I spent most of the day really lying quite low.

I wasn’t a hero.

I was soft and mushy.

That’s for sure.

Vulnerable.

I felt like my underbelly was a little exposed and tender and I just kept quiet and read my book, and was happy that there was sun and not too upset if the neighbors noticed I was in my pajamas all day.

At least it was a pretty vintage nightgown.

And so.

Yup.

That was my day.

Not too exciting.

Hopefully I will awaken and be clear of it all.

I have my supervisor in the morning, a date with a girlfriend to the MOMA after, a client at 6:30p.m.

I have not cancelled anything, and unless I’m puking blood later I won’t cancel my supervision.

But if I’m still feeling low I’ll cancel the museum and rest before seeing my client in the evening.

Too soon to tell.

Just going to curl up and have a little tea and see if I can sleep the rest of it off.

Until tomorrow.

Sweetest slumber.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

