Adagio*


*My internet has been down for a day and a half.  Just a teensy bit annoying.  So I wrote a poem yesterday and it’s my post for yesterday.  I will have more adventures for you later.

Enjoy!

 

Adagio

 

Slowly, softly, gently.

There is this timelessness about you.

Timely, too, in the way you have ghost shipped

My heart.

I knew you.

Just there.

In the periphery of my eyesight

Calm and controlled, together, tight, coiled like a

Clock spring and shining like newly minted metal.

You would have been hot to my touch had I

Dared reach for you.

Instead.

I left you.

Again and again.

What fool am I?

Riding through the fog misted park with the press of

Your shimmering self-reflecting back at me.

It took such time.

Ages of it.

Mountains of it.

Pools of it.

To let you in.

And when I finally realized, it was you, it had been you all this time,

You so patiently patient were no longer, it was too late.

And yet.

You gave me one last chance, one more moment

Of your precious, precious time.

And all the world melted into your eyes—

Infinite and wise.

Bespoken and beholden with the burden of

Minutes, seconds, the tick tock of impatience

The sleep of a 1,000 years, the tales of many nights

Collapsed

And now.

I wait for you.

Carving out whatever time,

Soft.

Sweet.

Slow.

As you can bear to let me have.

The bubble of joy I find myself in with you,

Absconds with alarms and whistles, time refuses

If only for moment, to march on when

You kiss me.

Touch me.

Call out to me.

Melting into timeless heaven with you.

And wishing when it is over that there was

Time again for more.

In this eternal longing.

Time to kiss your face, eyelids, cheekbones, and chest.

Time to kiss your collarbones, the palms of your hands.

Time to kiss the creases of your elbows.

Time again to see you.

Hold you.

Be with you.

Softly.

Gently.

Slowly.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

